Question: Wacom Intuos2 / Intuos3 – what’s the diff?

B
Posted By
BD
May 18, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hey, all.

I’m considering buying a Wacom tablet.

The 9×12 Intuos3 is almost $500. I am considering buying an Intuos2 second-hand.

I’ve never used one of these jobbies before, and while I expect the Intuos2 would do the job just fine I am curious about the basic differences between the ‘2’ and the ‘3’.

Anyone out there know?

Thanks!!

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

AM
Andrew Morton
May 18, 2006
BD wrote:
I’m considering buying a Wacom tablet.

The 9×12 Intuos3 is almost $500. I am considering buying an Intuos2 second-hand.

Do you really need a tablet that large? I find an A5 tablet sufficient for use over two monitors, but then I have it more to avoid mouse RSI than to be artistic (which I’m not).

I’ve never used one of these jobbies before, and while I expect the Intuos2 would do the job just fine I am curious about the basic differences between the ‘2’ and the ‘3’.

The main difference is the pen. The one that comes with the Intuos3 is fatter because it has a rubbery grip. I prefer the pen from the ‘2, and it’s annoying when I find myself holding my pen and trying to use someone else’s ‘3 tablet – they don’t talk to each other.

Andrew
B
BD
May 18, 2006
Do you really need a tablet that large?

No clue. ‘Need’ is obviously a relative term, but I’ve read posts from people who feel a lot more freedom of movement with the larger surface area. Personally, I doubt I would ‘need’ all that much working space, but I’d hate to blow money on a unit that was too small to be useable. Better too much area than too little – aside from price considerations, obviously. 😉

I prefer the pen from the ‘2.

Interesting. I guess as long as they’re both pressure sensitive and have similar resolution (dpi), then either should work for a newbie.

Thanks!
RB
Rudy Benner