CK
Posted By
Chris Keath
Jul 8, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’m new to this but when sending press ready files……..how exactly does the printer send the file to the printer ? I’m curious as I sent them a bunch of Illustrator files and they send the same files back to me as Acrobat files to sign off on……….

I don’t think they would send the print job as Acrobat but if someone could enlighten me, that would be greatly appreciated.

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

N
noone
Jul 8, 2004
In article ,
spam.hotmail.com says…
I’m new to this but when sending press ready files……..how exactly does the printer send the file to the printer ? I’m curious as I sent them a bunch of Illustrator files and they send the same files back to me as Acrobat files to sign off on……….

I don’t think they would send the print job as Acrobat but if someone could enlighten me, that would be greatly appreciated.

There are a myriad of ways to get files printed with ink on paper in the commercial sense. They (the printer, or rep, or design facility which will outsource the actual printing) should furnish you with a spec sheet on exactly what is required. This will differ from print shop to print shop, though much will be the same. Get this set of exact specifications and do not let them blow you off by saying, "hey, we can handle any file you send… " Make them fill in ALL of the blanks and get it in writing, i.e FAX, or e-mail, that you can print out and refer to when you output the files.