L
Posted By
Litron
Jul 2, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’ve been doing artwork for a few years and was asked to create a logo for a friends business – I designed it in RGB and had some nifty gradient fades and shadow effects (My buddy was quite happy with the previews)… of course when I converted it to CMYK (as I understand I need to do for the print shop) the logo lost a lot of depth and vibrancy – it also appears a few shades darker when I print it on my Lexmark X1140 printer.

I understand that I probably need to calibrate my monitor to better match my printer output, but how can I be certain that my colors will remain true to the original when it’s finally taken to the printer? Also, what file format would be best to save the logo in for the printer(I’ve avoided the lossy formats such as JPG and GIF, but how about TIF or a flattened PSD file)?

Anyone know of some good resources on the web, something along the lines of CMYK for Dummies? I would eventually like to print some of my original artwork as well, but now I fear there might be a whole crap load of worms in that can as everything was created in RGB..

Anyways, any help would be appreciated, Pantones etc are all new to me so I could use a push in the right direction.

Thanx

Litron

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

V
V1nc3nt
Jul 2, 2004
"Litron" wrote in message
I’ve been doing artwork for a few years and was asked to create a logo for
a
friends business – I designed it in RGB and had some nifty gradient fades and shadow effects (My buddy was quite happy with the previews)… of
course
when I converted it to CMYK (as I understand I need to do for the print shop) the logo lost a lot of depth and vibrancy – it also appears a few shades darker when I print it on my Lexmark X1140 printer.