B
Posted By
Brian
Jan 31, 2006
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi, I posted this question originally in rec.photo.digital and a reply sent me here. Can anyone help?

I’m just getting into using Elements and have books by Scott Kelby and Mikkel Aaland. Kelby says set up the options for full colour management and Aaland says go for No Colour Management.

What are the pros and cons of each option for an amateur with an injet printer? What should I do about the printer’s colour management option?

Brian

(For email change closed to open)

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

CJ
C J Southern
Feb 2, 2006
Hi Brian,

Colour Management can be a complicated beast – so the "ultimate answer" really depends on how far you want to go (if you’re totally committed you’ll setup D50 lighting in your room – paint the walls neutral gray – calibrate your monitor – generate a profile for your camera – and generate a profile for each type of paper you use in your printer).

For starters, you’ll no-doubt be using an uncalibrated monitor – which means that the colours you see on the screen are not what’s in your images – whether it’s close or a long way out is anyones guess.

The next issue is when you send data to the printer – it’s sent as RGB data which means that the printer is told how much red, green, and blue to print – unfortunately it doesn’t actually define what shade of red, green, or blue – a good analogy might be if you’re following a map that says "take 30 paces East, and 50 paces North" – where you end up depends entirely on how long your paces are, which unfortunately aren’t defined.