Posted By
Peter
Dec 29, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hi all,

I’ve got a depressing dilemma with my photographs, not the shot itself but after editing it lacks for a better word pizzazz. I came to this conclusion when I recently looked at a shot from a pro photographer. I’m an amateur but I feel I’ve been making significant gains…..anyways, when I process most images I perform basic corrections for exposure and color, now I use levels for exposure and in colors mostly hue/saturation to remove or add reds (skin tones). I then edit for blemishes and finalize all with an unsharp mask.

I feel that looking at other images there is enhancement with respect to contrast, is this wise and when is too much, too much?

Also when I add the unsharp mask, I do it globally, should I use an edge mask instead and what are some values you see more often in the amount radius and threshold boxes when using this function?

And finally, what are good ways to make the eyes pop or seem lively, catch lites help but are there any suggestions?

Thanks

Peter

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

ES
Etoin Shurdlu
Dec 29, 2005
"Peter" wrote in message
Hi all,

I’ve got a depressing dilemma with my photographs, not the shot itself but after editing it lacks for a better word pizzazz. […]

Put the pictures somewhere so we can see them.
MR
Mike Russell
Dec 29, 2005
"Peter" wrote in message
Hi all,

I’ve got a depressing dilemma with my photographs, not the shot itself but after editing it lacks for a better word pizzazz. I came to this conclusion when I recently looked at a shot from a pro photographer.

Pros, as well they should, have a lot of advantages, from lighting to equipment to color correction. Each one of these is small, but in combination they can add up to a tremendous difference.