PE
Posted By
phoney.email
Mar 1, 2004
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I just started playing around with 16-bit images. Now, I knew "Apply Image", for example, doesn’t work in this mode, but what about:

1. Are layers possible in 16-bit mode?

2. Why are colors in the Color palette still shown as 8-bit? I expected 16-bit color.

Thanks.

Don.

How to Master Sharpening in Photoshop

Give your photos a professional finish with sharpening in Photoshop. Learn to enhance details, create contrast, and prepare your images for print, web, and social media.

R
Roberto
Mar 1, 2004
You have to remember that while CS is a big step forward in 16-bit support it is no where near complete. We just have to hope that the next version of Photoshop completes the process. As for 16-bit color palette I don’t see the point.

Jerry

"Don" wrote in message
I just started playing around with 16-bit images. Now, I knew "Apply Image", for example, doesn’t work in this mode, but what about:

2. Why are colors in the Color palette still shown as 8-bit? I expected 16-bit color.

Thanks.

Don.
N
nomail
Mar 1, 2004
Don wrote:

That depends which version of Photoshop you use. In Photoshop CS you can use layers in 16 bits color. In any earlier version you can not.

Photoshop’s 16 bits color support is not complete. Do you really need the ability to choose between a few trillion colors instead of "only" a few million colors?

Johan W. Elzenga johan<<at>>johanfoto.nl Editor / Photographer http://www.johanfoto.nl/
PE
phoney.email
Mar 2, 2004
I only have version 6 here, so that means the answer is no

The point of 16-bit color palette is that color data is more than 8 bits and to have it reduced back to 8 bits sort of defies the whole purpose of editing in 16-bit mode. Granted, some hardware may only produce 10 or 12 bits of color data but that’s still more than 8 bits.

Don.

On Mon, 01 Mar 2004 20:10:21 GMT, "nospam" wrote: