Posted By
Neil Hindry
Apr 3, 2005
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I wonder if you can help me.

I am fairly new to Photoshop (I have Photoshop 7) and I am have a problem.

I am trying to draw a triangle that I can then fill in with the gradient tool. I tried using the Custom Shape tool but the triangle was not the type I wanted and when I tried to use the gradient tool it filled the whole window rather than just the triangle.
I actually require 2 triangles. The triangles I require are :- 1 with the base at the bottom and the point at the top and another with the base at the top and the point at the bottom.

Could someone please tell me the best way to create a triangle (as outlined above) with a gradient fill?
Please do not be too technical as I do not know all the correct terminology.

I hope you can help.

I appreciate any help or information received.

Thanks!

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

E
edjh
Apr 3, 2005
Neil Hindry wrote:

I am trying to draw a triangle that I can then fill in with the gradient tool. I tried using the Custom Shape tool but the triangle was not the type I wanted and when I tried to use the gradient tool it filled the whole window rather than just the triangle.
I actually require 2 triangles. The triangles I require are :- 1 with the base at the bottom and the point at the top and another with the base at the top and the point at the bottom.

Could someone please tell me the best way to create a triangle (as outlined above) with a gradient fill?
Please do not be too technical as I do not know all the correct terminology.
I hope you can help.

I appreciate any help or information received.

Thanks!
Polygon Tool (which is what I bet you tried, not Custom Shape). Hold down Shift and drag straight UP to get the point at the top; straight DOWN to get the point at the bottom.