FD
Posted By
Fran_Dickenson
Dec 18, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
How do I take a color photo and convert most of it to b&w, but retain the color in certain areas? I am new to photoshop. Thank you for your help. -Fran

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

MM
Mike_Marketello
Dec 18, 2003
Decide which channel looks the best, then put a channel mixer adjustment layer over your picture, and adjust channels to give the best channel 100% of the channel mix, then paint on the adjustment layer with black, and the color will show through the adjustment layer or……

Duplicate your layer, desaturate the top layer, then put a layer mask on it. Anywhere you paint on the layer mask with black, the color layer under it will show through.
M
mistermonday
Dec 18, 2003
Frank, in the layers palette, right click your backgroung and select Dulicate. On the duplicated layer, select all, then Image>Adjust>Desaturate to turn the top layer into lack/white. Now click on the History brush, selct a brush size and just paint the areas where you want the color to be.
Rgds, MM
JS
John_Slate
Dec 18, 2003
….or add a layer filled with default black (or white) set to a blending mode of color (or saturation), and erase through this layer to get color.

and there are more ways.

All the above will not produce a single color black (grayscale) with color, but will produce a full-color neutral image with strongly colored areas.

If you want just the single color B&W, that’ll cost more.
GA
Gordon_Anderson
Dec 18, 2003
or…bring in your color image…duplicate, (for safety so you’re working on only a copy)…go to Image>Mode>Grayscale…(when promted discard color information)…go back to Image>Mode>and switch back to RGB 8 bit (or whatever the original was)…click on the "History" paint brush and paint over the areas you want to bring back to color.
CW
Colin_Walls
Dec 18, 2003
Fran: