BC
Posted By
Barry_Craig
Dec 16, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Hope this is the right place to ask this.
I am building a new computer (first time) and am wondering what would be a good video card to use. I am not a gamer, I just want something that will be adequate for working on digital video files in photoshop.
So far, I have purchased: Asus A7N8X Deluxe M/B, AMD 2800+ (Barton),512MB Corsair DDR 2700 memory, an Antec case with 350 watt power supply and a WD 120 GB Hard Drive.Most of the video cards at stores like Circut City etc. seem to be for gamers. Is there that much difference between them and Quadro or 3D Labs Oxygen or Wildcat cards?
I am not a professional or an expert at photoshop but I want a good system. Any advice would be appreciated.
Barry

Must-have mockup pack for every graphic designer 🔥🔥🔥

Easy-to-use drag-n-drop Photoshop scene creator with more than 2800 items.

RM
Rick Moore
Dec 16, 2003
You don’t need a high powered video card for Photoshop, just good stable drivers. Just about any Matrox or Nvidia Geforce will do, update to the latest drivers from the Matrox or Nvidia web site and don’t use what came with the card. I have used both of these in various forms from cheap to expensive and have never had a problem with Photoshop. Some swear by ATI but I don’t have any experience with them – mainly because their drivers used to have a bad reputation, but I’ve heard that they are a lot better now. If you don’t have any need for professional 3D software then a Quadro or Wildcat will be a big waste of money
MM
Mick_Murphy
Dec 16, 2003
A few bits of advice from direct experience. I recently got a similar system.

I wouldn’t go with a mere 512 megs of RAM if you want Photoshop to run well. 1 gig minimum I would say for comfort. CS in particular is very demanding.