NW
Posted By
Nick_Webb
Dec 8, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Greetings and Salutations fellow Photoshop Users!

I am a graphic designer, but new to restoring old photos. I have a photo, that when scanned, small dots show up all over the image. Like when you look at a magazine photo up close. What are my options to eliminate these small circles all over the image? I have tried Gaussian Blur and Sharpen filters…but to no avail.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Nick

MacBook Pro 16” Mockups 🔥

– in 4 materials (clay versions included)

– 12 scenes

– 48 MacBook Pro 16″ mockups

– 6000 x 4500 px

BG
barry_gray
Dec 8, 2003
If the dots are from the texture of the paper, you might try scanning a 2 time with the photo upside down, rotate 180 bring it in to the 1st scan doc as layer 2, set blend mode to color, lighten or darken.
L
LenHewitt
Dec 8, 2003
Nick,

Tale a look at:

LenHewitt "removing pattern" 10/30/03 9:44am </cgi-bin/webx?13/0>
CT
charles_tarver
Dec 17, 2003
Go to Google and type in Hot Pixiles, then download the shareware program. It works great and if necessary you can run it one the picture twice.
CK
Christine_Krof_Shock
Dec 18, 2003
If the scan/rotation doesn’t work, then try blurring in channels especially the channel carring the most pattern, then sharpening in the channel carring the least amount of pattern.
P
Phosphor
Dec 18, 2003
First, you have to find a scanner big and sturdy enough for Photo Help < http://www.adobeforums.com/cgi-bin/webx?224@@ef435fe@.2ccee3 33/104> to stretch out on. Otherwise, you’ll have a heck of a time pasting together all the smaller scans that you’d get out of a standard-size desktop unit.

Plus, he’s not that old…graduated college in the mid ’90’s I think.

😉
SC
Steve_Coates
Dec 18, 2003
Well, you could cut him up into little pieces and then scan them seperately. Of course it will be very difficult to do a proper restoration afterwards, but I don’t think he’ll mind.
;]
BO
Burton_Ogden
Dec 18, 2003
Nick,