JC
Posted By
Jim_Casady
Nov 14, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
I’ve been working with jpegs for 11 or 12 years, but it seems there are some fundamentals that I am not grasping as far as file size and format. I’ve been printing photos up to 13X19 with stunning results for the most part, but when I shoot pictures of groups of people (a dozen or more) I’m not satisfied with the detail and sharpness in the individual faces. In the past I always shot large groups with an RB 67 and now I am shooting everything with the newest Nikon D100 and printing large with an Epson 2200. I understood everything about getting what I wanted out of the RB and film…is there a gap in my understanding about file formats and preparing photos for large prints or am I just expecting too much out of digital at the moment compared to the medium format shooting of old? My editing workstation is fairly fast (2.4 Pentium 4) and rendering/printing time vs. studio volume keeps me working most comfortably with file sizes under 235 MB-do I need to upgrade there to get the results I’m after or am I making an acquisition/format error?

I like the jpeg fine setting on the Nikon for the capacity it provides and most final applications, but wonder if either the TIF or RAW settings on acquisition would be preferable for group shots printed larger than 8X10.
I’ve experimented with it a little, but I guess I don’t understand how to work with TIF or RAW files well enough to really compare and need a little instruction on the advantages and how to exploit them to yield the results I’m looking for. I also think I may be missing something or sometimes inadvertantly degrading images when it comes to interpolating and image size. Geez…I feel like a novice again.

Any help will be appreciated.
JC

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

CW
Colin_Walls