PS CS scanner profile to working space profile conversion problem?

C
Posted By
craig__schultz
Nov 11, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Background: I have been using PS v6 for a few years, since I never felt the need to upgrade to v7, and just recently upgraded to PS CS. I use Silverfast with a Polaroid Sprint Scan 4000 (original hardware version) with IT8 calibration to scan all my slides. I have also hardware calibrated my monitor with Photocal and the Spyder. Everything works great from a color management point of view in PS6; from scan to print.

Problem: During a few days of testing PS CS I noticed some very strange behavior in the way it converts from my scanner profile to Adobe RGB (my working space). On any slide scan with shadows, PS CS’s conversion will greatly reduce the contrast and saturation of anything in those shadows. Since I mostly shoot landscapes at sunrise/sunset you can see my problem.

This conversion issue can be duplicated most easily using a scan that is still in the scanners color space and has very saturated colors in the shadows (fall trees at sunrise for example). What seems to be happening, is PS CS is not honoring the black point in the scanner profile and causes the black point to be twice as high as PS6 (i.e. 777 in PS6 will not be 14,14,14 in PS CS) and causes colors in the shadows to be greatly less saturated.

Soft proofing using the same printer profiles in PS CS also shows drastic differences from PS6, most likely related and may help in trouble shooting this issue.