MP
Posted By
McHenry_Peters
Nov 9, 2003
Views
Replies
Status
Closed
Will a PS 6.0 Upgrade to a PS 4.0 give me the full features of the 6.0 version and be fully compatable with WinXP? I plan to get a new Canon EOS Rebel 300D and want to edit the images in Photoshop. I am an amateur photographer, not a graphic designer. Would an upgrade to 7.0 be to much for my non-professional, enthusiast needs?

How to Improve Photoshop Performance

Learn how to optimize Photoshop for maximum speed, troubleshoot common issues, and keep your projects organized so that you can work faster than ever before!

GH
Grass_Hopper
Nov 9, 2003
Are you saying you already have the 6.0 PS or that you are thinking of getting it?

You can upgrade to PSCS with your full version 4.0 via the standard upgrade path, if you so choose. PSCS requires WindowsXP, PS 6 and 7 can run on Win98SE and up.
DM
Don_McCahill
Nov 9, 2003
It is no longer possible to get upgrades to go to version 6 or 7. (Unless you are buying old stock from a dealer). Adobe is now only selling the CS upgrade, which is version 8.
MP
McHenry_Peters
Nov 9, 2003
Thanks for the response! No, I haven’t the PS 6.0 upgrade yet. I do have PS 4.0 and 5.0 LE. I need a higher version to edit converted RAW and jpg images for color management,sharpening,and other management from the Canon dSLR. I think the CS is probably way beyond my needs, and I don’t know what the 7.0 would do for me beyond the 6.0 or a 5.5. I’m still in a learning phase with PS. My concern was that the big jump in upgrade from a 4.0 to a 6.0 or 7.0 wouldn’t be possible. If so, it’s a very good deal for me!

Mac
GH
Grass_Hopper
Nov 10, 2003
My concern was that the big jump in upgrade from a 4.0 to a 6.0 or 7.0 wouldn’t be possible

Yes, it’s possible 🙂 As Don has said, the upgrade to versions 6 and 7 are no longer available from Adobe, as they are now shipping version CS. If you’re going to upgrade, why not get the most recent version?
RO
Robert_Oliver
Nov 10, 2003